Skip to content
July 15, 2010 / mel

Can’t Leave Rap Alone The Game Needs Me

So a couple of years ago when I was both professionally and personally in a creative (and otherwise) funk, I started my blog homegirl as a place to write about my house, and all the projects on the long to-do list, and all the design details that went along with them. But I never really knew where I was going with it, despite having a decent (at least to me) number of visitors to the site. Then almost a year ago, when shit was really sad, I was lucky enough to be invited by Twitter pal Shira Abel to write for her design blog Tchochkes. She totally picked me up and let me write for a huge audience, for which I am insanely grateful. I was inspired to write even more, something I really missed. Also? Shira’s a marketing genius, has excellent taste in music and lives in Israel. Which I think is so cool. I love the Web!

Anyway. Then earlier this year an incredible opportunity came out of no where, completely by chance. And I went for it. And despite the fact that I knew I was The Most Perfect Person For The Job, and despite two great interviews, I was just sure I’d be overlooked. Thanks, low self esteem.
But I wasn’t. For the past three months I’ve been readjusting to being back in a hyper-creative environment in an industry I love, one that I was unsure I would ever be a part of again unless we packed up and moved to a bigger city. I am so fucking thrilled.

I never expected to make it big as a design blogger, but for some reason I felt like I couldn’t write about anything else over at homegirl. So I decided to relocate to this little spot I’ve had parked for ages and make it into a place to write about everything, not just what’s going on with the house projects (of which there are many), but also what’s going on in my little world. And even though I’ve been slacking a bit (because now I don’t have a boring job where I can blog at work), I’m still writing (almost) weekly at Tchochkes.

So welcome. Come for the musings and videos of dogs and concerts, stay for the bitching and sarcasm.

Leave a Reply

